Vegan Marshmallows!

As a vegetarian (non-gelatine eating) it’s been a very, very long time since I’ve eaten a marshmallow. I’ve read about vegan marshmallows, but only today managed to find some (in Fuzzi, Winchester). I have to say that as far as i remember they’re pretty authentic, but it was rather bizarre eating something that is normally so un-veggie friendly!

These are made by Sweet Vegan and contain no gelatine or artificial colours or flavours. They’re made from Fair Trade sugar, water, glucose syrup, carrageenan, cornflour, soy protein, confectioner’s sugar and natural bourbon vanilla flavour. They also do other flavours… may have to place an order!

My girls, who do eat conventional marshmallows were also rather partial to them, so I’d say they’re a pretty good, authentic veggie-friendly version. Expensive yes, but also soft, gooey and very marshmallowy – perfect if you’re a veggie/vegan craving some marshmallow pillowy softness 🙂

Published by

lucylox

Welcome. I'm a Cordon Bleu trained chef and mother with a passion for cooking vegetarian food. All recipes featured here are dairy, egg, and nut-free, thus 'accidentally' vegan, as my children are allergic to those. My aim is to recreate any dish, even what seems impossible, but free of the ingredients we can't have, and log my exploits here. Please browse what is now several hundred recipes. All the recipes posted (unless stated) are my own creations.

One thought on “Vegan Marshmallows!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s